Ok, so this caught my eye. I love cesear salad and it does NOT love me. One delicious serving and I’m in pain, cramps, intestinal upset. Not fun and not worth it anymore for me.

But I have just come upon this recipe and I am very curious. Perhaps I’ll give it a try this weekend. We are having family over for dinner so they can be my test subjects. My mother-in-law loves Brussels Sprouts, so perhaps I’ll have won her over already just by including them.

This Gingered Caesar Salad is a healthier spin on the classic Caesar as it’s gluten-free, vegan, and delicious!
Ingredients
1 cup Brussels sprouts
4 cups mixed greens (spinach, radicchio, etc)
1/2 cup arugula
3/4 cup almond milk
1/2 cup pumpkin
1 tsp. white balsamic vinegar
1/4 cup cashews, ground
1 ripe avocado, pitted and peeled
2 Tbsp. nutritional yeast
1/4 tsp. fresh lemon juice
1 Tbsp. agave nectar
1/6 tsp. curry powder
1/6 tsp. fresh ginger root
1/4 cup fresh basil, finely chopped
Pinch of sea salt
Directions
Steam Brussels sprouts on the stove top over medium heat for 10 minutes or until tender and bright green. Remove from heat; transfer to a large salad bowl.  Add mixed greens and arugula.
In a blender, add remaining ingredients; pulse until smooth.  Pour dressing onto salad; gently toss to combine.
Serve chilled.
________________________
This is taken directly from her post that you can find here http://www.mindbodygreen.com/0-4293/GlutenFree-and-Vegan-Caesar-Salad.html  It looks like Amie does some wonderful things with food and I’ll be following her on Twitter @TheHealthyApple. I’m on Twitter also @DrGuy_ND !

Discover more from Vivienne Guy ND

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading